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        FILED: SEPTEMBER 23, 2024 

LABOR AND WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT 

DIVISION OF WAGE AND HOUR COMPLIANCE 

N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.1, 3.2 and 3.3 

Notice of Administrative Changes 

Minimum Wage 

Take notice that the Department of Labor and Workforce Development has requested, 

and the Office of Administrative Law has agreed to permit, administrative changes to N.J.A.C. 

12:56-3.1(a), 12:56-3.2(a), and 12:56-3.3(a).  

In pertinent part, N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.1 states that “except as provided at N.J.A.C. 12:56-

3.2, 3.3, 3.4, 3.5, and 3.7, every employee shall, effective January 1, 2024, be paid not less than 

$15.13 per hour or the minimum wage rate set by section 6(a)(1) of the Federal Fair Labor 

Standards Act of 1938 (29 U.S.C. 206(a)(1), whichever is greater.”  Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 12: 56-

3.1(c), beginning January 1, 2025, on an annual basis, on or about September 30, the Department 

shall revise the minimum hourly wage rate, “based on any percentage increase during the one-

year period of August of the prior year through August of the current year of the consumer price 

index (CPI) for all urban wage earners and clerical workers (CPI-W, U.S. City Average), as 

released by the United States Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics.”  N.J.A.C. 12:56-

3.1 indicates further that the Department shall annually, (1) through a public notice published in 

the New Jersey Register, provide the new minimum hourly wage rate, and (2) no later than 

September 30 of each year, publish the public notice on the Department’s website.  The percent 
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increase in the CPI-W, U.S. City Average, for the one-year period, August 2023 through August 

2024 is 2.35 percent. That is, the CPI-W, U.S. City Average, in August 2023 was 301.55, and in 

August 2024 it was 308.64.  Consequently, the change in the index over the period equaled 7.09 

or an increase of 2.35 percent (7.09/301.55 x 100).  Using as a base for the CPI-adjustment the 

current New Jersey minimum hourly wage rate of $15.13, a 2.35 percent increase (rounded to the 

nearest penny) is $0.36, which would result in a CPI-adjusted minimum hourly wage rate of 

$15.49.  Therefore, pursuant to Article 1, Paragraph 23, of the New Jersey Constitution, and 

N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.1(c), the State minimum hourly wage rate, effective January 1, 2025, must be 

changed from $15.13 to $15.49. 

Under N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a4(c) and N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.2, for the period from January 1, 

2020 through January 1, 2026, the minimum hourly wage rate for employees of small employers 

and employees who are engaged in seasonal employment is to be adjusted annually so that it is 

the greater of either an amount based on any percentage increase during the one-year period of 

August of the prior year through August of the current year of the consumer price index (CPI) 

for all urban wage earners and clerical workers (CPI-W, U.S. City Average), as released by the 

United States Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics, or the following: for January 1, 

2020, $10.30; on January 1 of each year from 2021 to 2025, inclusive, an amount equal to $0.80 

more than the minimum hourly wage rate for employees of small employers and employees who 

are engaged in seasonal employment from the preceding year; and for January 1, 2026, an 

amount equal to $0.70 more than the minimum hourly wage rate for employees of small 

employers and employees who are engaged in seasonal employment from the preceding year.  

N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.2 indicates further that the Department shall annually, (1) through a public 

notice published in the New Jersey Register, provide the new minimum hourly wage rate for 
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employees of small employers and employees who are engaged in seasonal employment, and (2) 

no later than September 30 of each year, publish the public notice on the Department’s website.  

Using as a base for the CPI-adjustment the current New Jersey minimum hourly wage rate for 

employees of small employers and employees who are engaged in seasonal employment of 

$13.73, a 2.35 percent increase (rounded to the nearest penny) is $0.32, which would result in a 

CPI-adjusted minimum hourly wage rate for employees of small employers and employees who 

are engaged in seasonal employment of $14.05.  Since $14.05 is less than the $14.53 rate 

established under N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a4(c) for January 1, 2025, the State minimum hourly wage 

rate for employees of small employers and employees who are engaged in seasonal employment, 

effective January 1, 2025, must be changed from $13.73 to $14.53. 

Under N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a4(d) and N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.3, for the period from January 1, 

2020 through January 1, 2027, the minimum hourly wage rate for employees engaged on a piece-

rate or regular hourly rate basis to labor on a farm is to be adjusted annually so that it is the 

greater of either an amount based on any percentage increase during the one-year period of 

August of the prior year through August of the current year of the consumer price index (CPI) 

for all urban wage earners and clerical workers (CPI-W, U.S. City Average), as released by the 

United States Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics, or the following: for January 1, 

2020, $10.30; for January 1, 2021, $10.30; for January 1, 2022, $10.90; on January 1 of each 

year from 2023 to 2024, inclusive, an amount equal to $0.80 more than the minimum hourly 

wage rate for employees engaged on a piece-rate or regular hourly rate basis to labor on a farm 

from the preceding year; for January 1, 2025, $13.40; and on January 1 of each year from 2026 

to 2027, inclusive, an amount equal to $0.80 more than the minimum hourly wage rate for 

employees engaged on a piece-rate or regular hourly rate basis to labor on a farm from the 
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preceding year.  N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.3 indicates further that the Department shall annually, (1) 

through a public notice published in the New Jersey Register, provide the new minimum hourly 

wage rate for employees engaged on a piece-rate or regular hourly rate basis to labor on a farm 

and (2) no later than September 30 of each year, publish the public notice on the Department’s 

website.  Using as a base for the CPI-adjustment the current New Jersey minimum hourly wage 

rate for employees engaged on a piece-rate or regular hourly rate basis to labor on a farm of 

$12.81, a 2.35 percent increase (rounded to the nearest penny) is $0.30, which would result in a 

CPI-adjusted minimum hourly wage rate for employees engaged on a piece-rate or regular 

hourly rate basis to labor on a farm of $13.11.  Since $13.11 is less than the $13.40 rate 

established under N.J.S.A. 34:11-56a4(d) for January 1, 2025, the State minimum hourly wage 

rate for employees engaged on a piece-rate or regular hourly rate basis to labor on a farm, 

effective January 1, 2025, must be changed from $12.81 to $13.40. 

On the basis of the foregoing, the following administrative changes must be made: 

(1) To N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.1(a): the date, January 1, 2024, must be replaced by the 

date, January 1, 2025, and the amount, $15.13, must be replaced by the amount, $15.49. 

(2) To N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.2(a): the date, January 1, 2024, must be replaced by the 

date, January 1, 2025, and the amount, $13.73, must be replaced by the amount, $14.53. 

(3) To N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.3(a): the date, January 1, 2024, must be replaced by the 

date, January 1, 2025, and the amount, $12.81, must be replaced by the amount, $13.40. 

 

Full text of the changed rule follows (additions indicated in boldface thus; deletions 

indicated in brackets [thus]): 
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12:56-3.1 Statutory minimum wage rates for specific years 

(a) Except as provided at N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.2, 3.3, 3.4, 3.5, and 3.7, every employee shall, 

effective [January 1, 2024] January 1, 2025, be paid not less than [$15.13] $15.49 per hour or 

the minimum wage rate set by section 6(a)(1) of the Federal "Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938" 

(29 U.S.C. § 206(a)(1), whichever is greater. 

(b) – (d) (No change.) 

 

12:56-3.2 Statutory minimum wage rate for specific years; small and seasonal employees 

(a) Except as provided at N.J.A.C. 12:56-3.3 and 3.4, every employee of a small 

employer and every employee who is engaged in seasonal employment shall, effective [January 

1, 2024] January 1, 2025, be paid not less than [$13.73] $14.53 per hour or the minimum wage 

rate set by section 6(a)(1) of the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, 29 U.S.C. § 

206(a)(1), whichever is greater. 

(b) – (f) (No change.) 

 

12:56-3.3 Statutory minimum wage rate for specific years; labor on a farm 

(a) Every employee engaged on a piece-rate or regular hourly rate basis to labor on a 

farm shall, effective [January 1, 2024] January 1, 2025, be paid not less than [$12.81] $13.40 

per hour or the minimum wage rate set by section 6(a)(1) of the Federal Fair Labor Standards 

Act of 1938, 29 U.S.C. § 206(a)(1), whichever is greater. 
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(b) – (i) (No change.) 


